Remember Me?

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]
Page 1 of 1 Skip to Page:
< Older | Newer >
Topic: Drum Machine: MIDI or Audio?
Post #1 Skip to the next post in this topic.
Posted On: May 15 2009, 7:19 AM

No avatar chosen

Group: Members

Member Rating: None

I am pretty new to home recording and I have a question regarding MIDI vs. audio sounds.

I would like to record some drum sounds into n-Track using my BOSS DR-770 drum machine. I am very new to MIDI and I understand that MIDI is a way to send and control music information to the computer (or other device). Now, I was expecting to be able to use the drum kits and related effects from the drum machine directly in n-Track using MIDI. I am learning that is not the case and I would need to find soundfonts that are close to what I like in the drum machine. Would I be better off just using an audio out cable rather than the MIDI?

I thought the advantage of MIDI over audio was that MIDI gave me the ability to manipulate during and after the recording of a song (whereas audio is not as easily manipulated). Is this true? I want to hear the drums just as they are in the drum machine. Is there maybe a soundfont collection for the BOSS DR-770 that would seamlessly merge the two?

My goal is to use my drum machine to help me sketch out songs and record them. Here is my setup:

CPU: AMD Athlon XP 3200+
RAM: 1.00 GB RAM
AUDIO: M-Audio Audiophile 2496
SOFTWARE: N-Track Studio 24 Bit, Version 4.2.1, Build 2099
DRUM MACHINE: BOSS DR-770
PREAMP: M-Audio DMP3

Thanks all for any guidance.
Contact Information:  zenmushin

• AOL  AOL:
  • ICQ  ICQ:
  • MSN  MSN:
  • YIM  Yahoo:
WEB  
Post #2 Skip to the next post in this topic.
Skip to the previous post in this topic. Posted On: May 15 2009, 11:25 AM
Former Member

Hi Zen,

Pretty much you have 3 choices.
1. Record the audio straight from the Boss and skip the midi. Yes you have less control, but you can still edit wave files for length and what not.